“Chasing Dreams” or “Living Life and Loving It”?

22 Feb

So I posed this question to a friend and she said it’s about both! However, I somewhat disagree. Here is my reason why.

Chasing’ entails running, or pursuing, which isn’t a bad thing in itself. But most times if you’re chasing something then it is clearly running AWAY from you. Why would your ‘dreams’ run away from you? And when you chase, there is no guarantee you will catch your pursuit. No matter how fast you run it will keep running from you. I’m a true believer in what is meant for you, will be yours.

Whereas if you’re just living life and doing all the things you love, and the things you can, THEN you are in the frequency of what you were created for and the universe coordinates everything so it’s within your reach. (For example, going to Japan, is within my reach but I still have to get on the plane, buy my ticket, and work for the money. So just because you’re not “chasing” doesn’t mean you’re not doing your part)

Desires and visions are put in our hearts for us to ASPIRE TOWARDS, which is a completely different energy and attitude from chasing. Dreams, in the “popular sense” are the result of external influences and can change too rapidly whereas desires stem from within. Note, I am not using ‘dreams’ as a synonym for goals/plans. So have an understanding that ‘dreams’ in the technical sense is what people do when they are sleeping. What can you really achieve whilst sleeping? WAKE UP!!! Not everybody has “dreams” but everyone has DESIRES!

chasing!

I totally agree Willie!! ❤ (lol, at my terrible editing skills)

When you are just doing what you do, you somehow get where you’re supposed to be. It's not a cruel trick and neither is it always easy. But it is possible and then fits like a glove!

It’s just a very tiny modification in thought processing because in a race, no hound ever catches the rabbit. If you look at the term “chasing rabbits”, it implies, doing something irrelevant or being distracted from what you intend to do, and in my argument, that is being distracted from just BEING and DOING! Another term “chasing the wind” is doing a task which is meaningless and devoid of purpose and direction.

When I think about “chasing dreams”, I think people feel they have ‘made it’ when they have achieved fame, money and success. And if this is true, chasing dreams becomes this intangible concept about pursuing these superficial results, losing the very essence and beauty of just doing what you love, making an impact and ENJOYING the journey. When you are “chasing dreams” you somewhat tend to disregard the reality of “today” and focus on the illusion of “tomorrow aka WHEN I GET THERE!” How can you appreciate the scenery, if you’re running past the landmarks?

So how can I sum this up in a in a way, that doesn’t leave my thoughts so incoherent and vague?

Stop CHASING DREAMS but LEAD your heart to achieve those DESIRES that enable you to BE you and DO what you were created to do.

“Live and Let Be”
Finding Calmness in the Midst of Craziness

Ms Tola xx

3 Responses to ““Chasing Dreams” or “Living Life and Loving It”?”

  1. Paapa February 25, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    Beautifully written and argued, i could not agree with you more. I hold this view that dreams are potentially dangerous if one is not careful. I have a few friends who are still in dreamland and frankly i am tired of their ignorance/childishness/silliness and all i want to do is scream “WAKE UP”. You have provided me with a solution though, i will just copy your blog and email it. Don’t worry i will give full credit to you as the author.

    ps I like your style of writing.

    Like

    • thoughtchannel February 25, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

      Hahaaaa Papaa,
      Why thank you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed it. It can be frustrating when it seems everyone is sleeping right? But one day, we will all wake up and smell the coffee (whatever that means)

      Thanks for the love and feel free to spread the post!
      Tola x

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Don’t Worry About Tomorrow! | thoughtchannel - December 31, 2013

    […] make sense. But reading back, everything I wrote ‘yesterday’ brought me to today. Whilst I was just doing what I do, I ended up where I was supposed to be; things are slowly falling into place. Turning 25 was […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

